Grimes' 'Miss Anthropocene' Will Finally See the Light of Day

Grimes' 'Miss Anthropocene' Will Finally See the Light of Day

by Marissa Matozzo

After what's felt like years of teasing, early retirement announcements, and celebrity drama, Grimes has finally emerged from her elaborate "fitness" routine long enough to detail the long-awaited follow-up to 2015's Art Angels.

Grimes' fifth studio album, Miss Anthropocene, officially arrives on February 21, 2020 via 4AD. In addition to unveiling the 10-song tracklist, she's shared an atmospheric new single, "So Heavy I Fell Through the Earth," which opens the album. The multi-instrumentalist released two mixes of the track: a six-minute "Art Mix" edition, and another four-minute version more fit for the radio, called the "Algorithm Mix."

In the track's earworm of a chorus, Grimes sings about an all-powerful love: "So heavy I fell through the earth/ Cuz I'm full of love from you."

Also, in true Grimes fashion, "So Heavy" comes with a visual depicting her equipped with a sword and... preparing to fight a dragon? This follows "Violence," another Miss Anthropocene track that came with a self-directed video full of still more sword fighting and choreography. Never change.

View the tracklist, below.

Grimes: Miss Anthropocene:

01 So Heavy I Fell Through the Earth (Art Mix)

02 Darkseid (Grimes & 潘PAN)

03 Delete Forever

04 Violence (Grimes & i_o)

05 4ÆM

06 New Gods

07 My Name is Dark

08 You'll miss me when I'm not around

09 Before the fever


Photo via Getty


JT: Larger Than Life

Story by Brook Aster / Photography by Leanda Heler / Styling by Briana Andalore / Hair by Tevin Washington / Makeup by Eden Lattanzio / Nails by Tiny / Set design by Milena Gorum