"I've been deep, deep, deep, deep, deeply depressed," begins Noga Erez on her KIDS highlight, "Cipi," a track that underscores her album themes of "tension and release, anxiety and remedy" through bouncy, whimsical production by life partner and producer Ori Rousso. Today, the political pop artist shares an official music video for the song, shot in Berlin and directed by Omri Rozi.

"'Cipi' is about coping with mental weakness while constantly being in an environment where drugs and pills and medication are offered as a way to cope," Erez tells PAPER. "It can be hard to say no when all you want is something to numb the pain."

For Erez, the "Cipi" video is a visual representation of her mind during that time and all the voices inside of it. On a German side street, she walks — somewhat dead-eyed — among a group of dancers dressed in matching, loose grey suits and hats. Starting on the ground, they rise to move in-sync, swaying and marching together before leaving Erez alone to wrestle with her thoughts.

"It's a depiction of what you think the drugs might do before you do it, cleaning up the chaos in your head," she says. "I have many that are close to me, whose lives have been saved by getting proper medical help [and pills]. It's a very personal decision. But for me, I know I did the right thing the times I've said no, and am scared by what might have happened if I hadn't. This song comes from my own personal experience in dealing with this."

Alongside today's release, Erez is announcing her KIDS World Tour, with more than 45 dates including her US festival debut at Chicago's Lollapalooza. She'll be bringing the fierce energy featured on "Cipi" throughout North America and Europe to bring her sophomore album to life through powerful choreography and the project's anthemic, street-to-stadium beats.

Watch the PAPER premiere of "Cipi" by Noga Erez, above and stream KIDS, below.

US Tour: Sept — Nov 2021

% Special Guest: Rozet

Friday, September 17, 2021 Carrboro, NC Cats Cradle %
Saturday, September 18, 2021 Charlotte, NC The Underground %
Sunday, September 19, 2021 Washington, DC Sixth & I %
Tuesday, September 21, 2021 New York, NY Bowery Ballroom%
Thursday, September 23, 2021 Cambridge, MA Sinclair %
Saturday, September 25, 2021 Dover, DE Firefly
Thursday, September 30, 2021 Dallas, TX HiFi
Saturday, October 2, 2021 Houston, TX House of Blues - Bronze Peacock
Sunday, October 3, 2021 Austin, TX Austin City Limits Festival
Thursday, October 7, 2021 New Orleans, LA House of Blues - Parish
Sunday, October 10, 2021 Austin, TX Austin City Limits Festival
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 Minneapolis, MN Fine Line
Wednesday, October 13, 2021 Chicago, IL Thalia Hall
Thursday, October 14, 2021 Detroit, MI El Club
Friday, October 15, 2021 Indianapolis, IN HiFi
Sunday, October 17, 2021 Nashville, TN Basement East
Friday, October 22, 2021 Atlanta, GA Shaky Knees Festival
Sunday, October 24, 2021 St Louis, MO Off Broadway
Tuesday, October 26, 2021 Denver, CO Marquis
Wednesday, October 27, 2021 Salt Lake City, UT Urban Lounge
Friday, October 29, 2021 San Francisco, CA Outside Lands Festival
Thursday, November 4, 2021 Seattle, WA Crocodile Showroom
Friday, November 5, 2021 Vancouver, BC Fortune
Saturday, November 6, 2021 Portland, OR Aladdin
Wed, November 10, 2021 Los Angeles, CA El Rey %

Photo courtesy of Shai Franco

You May Also Like