The VMAs were a little ruder and a little badder this year thanks to Rihanna receiving the award show's Video Vanguard honor.

The baddest gal there ever was delivered four excellent performances through the night in celebration, and it was glorious.

Grab the popcorn and watch below.

She opened with a baby-pink Hood by Air bang, performing break-neck renditions of "Don't Stop the Music," "Only Girl (In the World)," "Pon De Replay"," We Found Love" and "Where Have You Been."

She continued with a glorious, dance-hall medley, including "Rude Boy," "What's My Name?" and "Work."

Please right a musical some day, Rih.

This lead into "Needed Me," " Pour It Up," and "Bitch Better Have My Money."

The shoulder pads alone.

She ended with a truly transcendent medley of "Stay" "Diamonds," and Anti doo-wop gem "Love on the Brain."

And then there was Aubrey.

Drake, Rihanna's collaborator and long-time are they/aren't there paramour, took the stage in a tux to present her with her award. He told the audience at Madison Square Garden that Rihanna is "someone I've been in love with since I was 22 years old."

Rihanna smiled and rolled her eyes.

"This is such an amazing moment in my career," she said, during her acceptance speech. "My success started as my dream. And now it's not my own, its my family's, my fans, women, black women."

You May Also Like