UK musician Kate Nash has enlisted over 120 musicians, including Radiohead's Ed O'Brien, Sia, Green Day, Sky Ferreira, Ed Droste, Bethany Consentino, Troye Sivan, Death Cab For Cutie, and many more to sign an open letter petition to President Obama to reevaluate "inhumane" new law enforcement actions against the thousands protesting the Dakota Access Pipline at Standing Rock, North Dakota.

Other than displays of force and brutality by police, authorities are threatening to block the protestors' access to supplies, as the winter temperatures grow worse. North Dakota governor Jack Dalrymple has also ordered protestors to evacuate due to the harsh weather conditions, but they plan to remain for the "long haul," as Sioux member Chase Iron Eyes told CNN.

The letter:

Dear President Obama, Army Corps of Engineers, and Department of Justice,

We are writing to express our shock at the treatment of the people of Standing Rock Sioux in North Dakota. We are deeply disturbed by the police actions that have been taking place, where non violent protests have been and continue to be met with extremely aggressive tactics including; being shot with water canons in below freezing temperatures, chemical weapons, rubber bullets, and attack dogs. These are the same inhumane methods used during WWII and the Civil Rights Movement.

We feel strongly in the current political climate that those in power must be held accountable for their actions. We stand behind and urge you to take action regarding the following requests made in the coalition statement released on November 27th, 2016:


We encourage you to remember that this planet provides for us, not the other way around. Water is life and this cannot be underestimated or taken for granted in 2016.

We are aware of the long and painful history between the US and its indigenous people. Know that the world's eyes and the eyes of the music community are on you now as you continue to disregard the treaties you have with the Native American people and act barbarically towards them.

Standing Rock we stand with you.

Yours Sincerely,

Kate Nash • Hayley Williams, Paramore • Sia • Billie Joe Armstrong, Green Day • Walk The Moon • Sleigh Bells • Ingrid Michaelson • Julian Casablancas, The Strokes • Ronnie Vannucci Jr., The Killers • Motion City Soundtrack • Moby • Tegan & Sara • Sky Ferreira • Tove Lo • Lykke Li • KT Tunstall • Kimya Dawson • Karen O • HOLYCHILD • Liz Phair • JoJo • JD Samson • Kathleen Hanna • Johanna Fateman • Jack Antonoff • Rizzle Kicks • Ed O'Brien, Radiohead • Nick Mason, Pink Floyd • Duff Mckagan, Guns & Roses • Billy Bragg • Bethany Cosentino, Best Coast • Ben Gibbard, Death Cab for Cutie • Black Kids • Cold War Kids • Clem Creevy, Cherry Glazerr • Emmy The Great • First Aid Kit • FIDLAR • PARTYBABY • Bleached • Jenny Lee Lindberg, Warpaint • SWMRS • Julia Cumming, Sunflower Bean • Deap Vally • Jungle • Kiran Ghandi • MSMR • Marina & The Diamonds • Natasha Bedingfield • Pussy Riot • Parson James • Santigold • Rumer Shirakbari • Samantha Urbani • Rachel Trachtenburg • Mitch Grassi, Pentatonix • Louise Post, Veruca Salt • Skating Polly • Lori Barbero & Kat Bjellend, Babes in Toyland • Kojak • Gin Wigmore • Dispatch • Bonnie Mckee • Seth Bogart, Hunx • RAT BOY • Christina Perri • Asia Whittacre • Jackie Tohn • Lapsley • Chloe Latimer Kloe • Chris Desjardins, Flesh Eaters • Alex Didonato, Finish Ticket • Chris Porterfield, Field Report • Jenn Wasner, Flock of Dimes • Matt & Kim • Sandie Shaw • Tyson Meade, Chainsaw Kittens • Zak Starkey • Kliph Scurlock • Justin Tranter • Daya • Julia Michaels • Alicia Warrington • Ashton Irwin, 5 Seconds of Summer • X • Jesse Malin, D Generation • Mario Cuomo, The Orwells • Spankrock • Andro • Lucius • Alice Glass • Anna Bulbrook • Jessica Gelt • Tom Biller • Justin Young, The Vaccines • Julia Nunes • Rain Phoenix • Fitz & The Tantrums • Sara Bareilles • Young Volcanoes • Kellin Quinn, Sleeping With Sirens • Cadien James, Twin Peaks • Adam Slack, The Struts • Andrea McMahon • OKGO • Andy Stack, Wye Oak • Deerhoof • Amanda Blank • A Great Big World • Laura Jane Grace & James Bowman, Against Me! • Lights • Lyndsey Gunnulfsen & Alex Babinski & Brian MacDonald, PVRIS • Vic Mensa • Fat Mike • Night Birds • Propagandhi • Lagwagon • Mark Ronson • Gorgon City • Erik Hassle • Steve Aoki • Atlas Genius • Troye Sivan • Hana Pestle, HANA • Shirley Manson • Icona Pop • Brian May • Cat Power • Electric Pyramid • Ed Droste, Grizzly Bear • Leo Suarez, Merchandise • Shura • MUNA • John McClure, Reverend & the Makers • Ed Harcourt • Branden Daniel • Brian Canning • Sami Banuelos, Twilight Sleep • Annie Lennox • Gothic Tropic • Shamir • Delicate Steve • Black Table • Godhunter • In the Company of Serpents • Azar Swan • Greg Rogove, Rogov / Devendra Banhart • Thumpers • Black Wail • Your Enemy • Marsh Dweller • Pixie Geldof •The Superweaks • Horseback • Jenks Miller • Agalloch • Korada • Churchburn • Mala Suerte • Krieg • Nostalgist • Thetan • Axed Crown • Temple of Dagon • Destroyed in Seconds • Hatesville • Tennis

Header photo via Remy Holwick for PAPER

You May Also Like